Manhattan Institute | Brian Riedl https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/956/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Brian Riedl Feed en <![CDATA[How to Save the Economy]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-to-save-the-economy-coronavirus-pandemic Fri, 03 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-to-save-the-economy-coronavirus-pandemic <![CDATA[Necessary Intervention]]> https://www.city-journal.org/covid-19-rescue-package Mon, 23 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl https://www.city-journal.org/covid-19-rescue-package <![CDATA[The 1% Would Pay for Medicare-For-All, But So Would You]]> https://economics21.org/medicare-for-all-middle-class-tax-hikes Fri, 20 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Budget https://economics21.org/medicare-for-all-middle-class-tax-hikes <![CDATA[How Effective Would a New Fiscal Stimulus Be?]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-effective-would-a-new-fiscal-stimulus-be Wed, 11 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Budget Economics: Finance https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-effective-would-a-new-fiscal-stimulus-be <![CDATA[The Case Against a Coronavirus Stimulus Plan]]> https://economics21.org/the-case-against-coronavirus-stimulus Wed, 11 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Budget Economics: Finance https://economics21.org/the-case-against-coronavirus-stimulus <![CDATA[The Math Doesn't Work: Utopian Progressive Tax Plans Don't Add Up]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/math-doesnt-work-progressive-tax-plans Mon, 09 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/math-doesnt-work-progressive-tax-plans <![CDATA[Medicare For All? Try Paying for Current Medicare Obligations]]> https://economics21.org/medicare-for-all-pay-current-commitments Wed, 04 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Health Policy: Other https://economics21.org/medicare-for-all-pay-current-commitments <![CDATA[No, Sanders Cannot Pay for His $97 Trillion Agenda]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/no-sanders-cant-pay-for-his-97-trillion-dollar-agenda Sat, 29 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/no-sanders-cant-pay-for-his-97-trillion-dollar-agenda <![CDATA[Issues 2020: Progressive Proposals Prop Up the Professional Class]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/redistribution-policies-benefit-wealthy Tue, 25 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget Energy & Environment: Regulations Health Policy: Medicare/Medicaid https://www.manhattan-institute.org/redistribution-policies-benefit-wealthy <![CDATA[Why Deficits Still Matter]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-deficits-matter-to-the-us-economy Wed, 12 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-deficits-matter-to-the-us-economy <![CDATA[$2 Trillion Budget Deficits-With No End in Sight]]> https://economics21.org/two-trillion-dollar-budget-deficits Fri, 07 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Budget https://economics21.org/two-trillion-dollar-budget-deficits <![CDATA[Takeaways from President Trump's 2020 State of the Union]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/president-trump-2020-state-of-the-union Wed, 05 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Brian Riedl Chris Pope Max Eden Economics: Other Education: Other Health Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/president-trump-2020-state-of-the-union <![CDATA[Why $1 Trillion Deficits Are Here to Stay]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-1-trillion-deficits-are-here Tue, 04 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-1-trillion-deficits-are-here <![CDATA[Testimony Before the U.S. Senate Homeland Security Committee]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/testimony/senate-homeland-security-americas-fiscal-path-debt Tue, 28 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/testimony/senate-homeland-security-americas-fiscal-path-debt <![CDATA[Senate Republicans Are Not ‘Obstructionist']]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/senate-republicans-are-not-obstructionist Sun, 12 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/senate-republicans-are-not-obstructionist <![CDATA[The Hidden Reason Congress Can't Rein in Spending and Deficits]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-hidden-reason-congress-cant-rein-spending-and-deficits Wed, 20 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-hidden-reason-congress-cant-rein-spending-and-deficits <![CDATA[Missteps Undermine the Legacy of the 2017 Tax Cuts]]> https://economics21.org/missteps-undermine-legacy-2017-tax-cuts Mon, 18 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Economics: Budget https://economics21.org/missteps-undermine-legacy-2017-tax-cuts <![CDATA[Warren's ‘Medicare for All' Plan Is 100% Fairy Dust]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/warrens-medicare-for-all-plan-is-100-percent-fairy-dust Thu, 07 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Brian Riedl Health Policy: Medicare/Medicaid https://www.manhattan-institute.org/warrens-medicare-for-all-plan-is-100-percent-fairy-dust <![CDATA[The Magical Thinking Behind Warren's Medicare for All Plan]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-magical-thinking-behind-warrens-medicare-for-all-plan Fri, 01 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Health Policy: Medicare/Medicaid https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-magical-thinking-behind-warrens-medicare-for-all-plan <![CDATA[MI Responds: Sen. Warren's "Medicare for All" Plan]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-warren-medicare-for-all-plan-taxes Fri, 01 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget Health Policy: Medicare/Medicaid https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-warren-medicare-for-all-plan-taxes <![CDATA[Issues 2020: Taxing the “Rich” Won't Pay for Politicians' Promises]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/issues-2020-taxing-the-rich-wont-fix-the-deficit Thu, 17 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/issues-2020-taxing-the-rich-wont-fix-the-deficit <![CDATA[Debate Prep: Ten Tough Questions that Medicare-for-All Supporters Probably Can't Answer]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/ten-tough-questions-medicare-for-all-supporters-probably-cant-answer Tue, 15 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget Health Policy: Medicare/Medicaid https://www.manhattan-institute.org/ten-tough-questions-medicare-for-all-supporters-probably-cant-answer <![CDATA[The Unaffordable Candidate]]> https://www.city-journal.org/bernie-sanders-expensive-spending-proposals Tue, 15 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl https://www.city-journal.org/bernie-sanders-expensive-spending-proposals <![CDATA[2019 Chart Book Examines Spending, Taxes, and Deficits]]> https://economics21.org/2019-riedl-chart-book-spending-taxes-deficits Tue, 24 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Budget https://economics21.org/2019-riedl-chart-book-spending-taxes-deficits <![CDATA[Money to Burn]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/money-to-burn-2020-presidential-race-democrats Fri, 20 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Brian Riedl Economics: Tax Economics: Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/money-to-burn-2020-presidential-race-democrats