Manhattan Institute | Howard Husock https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/88/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Howard Husock Feed en <![CDATA[Public Media Must Reimagine Itself for a New Era - or Give Up ‘Reason to Exist']]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/public-media-reimagine-new-era Fri, 07 Dec 2018 00:00:00 -0500 Howard Husock Public Sector: Other Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/public-media-reimagine-new-era <![CDATA[Who's Counting Whom?]]> https://www.city-journal.org/trump-census-citizenship-fight Mon, 03 Dec 2018 00:00:00 -0500 Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/trump-census-citizenship-fight <![CDATA[A Scrooge for Giving Tuesday]]> https://www.city-journal.org/why-philanthropy-is-failing-democracy Tue, 27 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0500 Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/why-philanthropy-is-failing-democracy <![CDATA[Oren Cass on "The Once and Future Worker"]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/oren-cass-once-and-future-worker-11617.html Tue, 20 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0500 Howard Husock Oren Cass Economics: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/oren-cass-once-and-future-worker-11617.html <![CDATA[Overpraising the Overseers]]> https://www.city-journal.org/federal-bureaucracy Fri, 16 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0500 Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/federal-bureaucracy <![CDATA[Amazon Comes to Queens]]> https://www.city-journal.org/amazon-in-queens Wed, 14 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/amazon-in-queens <![CDATA[I Don't Want to Pray Under Armed Guard]]> https://www.city-journal.org/pittsburgh-tree-of-life-shooting Mon, 29 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/pittsburgh-tree-of-life-shooting <![CDATA[Philadelphia Is Exhibit A for the Latest Challenge Facing Low-Income Tenants]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/philadelphia-exhibit-latest-challenge-facing-low-income-tenants-11561.html Thu, 25 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Urban Policy: Housing https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/philadelphia-exhibit-latest-challenge-facing-low-income-tenants-11561.html <![CDATA[The New Housing Problem Facing Low-Income Renters]]> https://economics21.org/new-housing-problem-husock Thu, 18 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Economics: Regulations https://economics21.org/new-housing-problem-husock <![CDATA[Race Relations, with Shelby Steele]]> https://www.city-journal.org/race-relations-shelby-steele-16221.html Wed, 10 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Shelby Steele Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/race-relations-shelby-steele-16221.html <![CDATA[The Student Loan Forgiveness Mess: The Program Is the Problem]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/student-loan-forgiveness-mess-program-problem-11528.html Tue, 09 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/student-loan-forgiveness-mess-program-problem-11528.html <![CDATA[Fred Trump, Middle Class Hero]]> https://www.city-journal.org/fred-trump-middle-class-hero-16218.html Tue, 09 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/fred-trump-middle-class-hero-16218.html <![CDATA[Building a Housing Ladder: Lessons from, and for, Silicon Valley]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/urban-policy-2018-building-housing-ladder-lessons-silicon-valley-11511.html Wed, 03 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Urban Policy: Housing https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/urban-policy-2018-building-housing-ladder-lessons-silicon-valley-11511.html <![CDATA[Urban Policy 2018]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/urban-policy-2018 Fri, 28 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0400 William J. Bratton Stephen Eide Stephen Goldsmith Michael Hendrix Howard Husock Judith Miller Jon Murad Aaron M. Renn Peter D. Salins Urban Policy: Housing Urban Policy: Crime Urban Policy: Welfare Urban Policy: Regulation Health Policy: Mental Illness https://www.manhattan-institute.org/urban-policy-2018 <![CDATA[Community Reinvestment Act Reform: We Need to Change CRA, a Law That Hurts the Poor]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/community-reinvestment-act-reform-we-need-change-cra-law-hurts-poor-11462.html Tue, 11 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Urban Policy: Housing Economics: Finance https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/community-reinvestment-act-reform-we-need-change-cra-law-hurts-poor-11462.html <![CDATA[Did The Village Voice Help Ruin Journalism?]]> https://www.city-journal.org/did-village-voice-help-ruin-journalism-16161.html Fri, 07 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/did-village-voice-help-ruin-journalism-16161.html <![CDATA[Californians - Resist the Rent-Control Temptation]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/californians-resist-rent-control-temptation-11441.html Tue, 04 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Urban Policy: Housing https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/californians-resist-rent-control-temptation-11441.html <![CDATA[Fixing Tax Reform and Charitable-Giving Incentives]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/fixing-tax-reform-and-charitable-giving-incentives-11435.html Sun, 26 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Economics: Tax Other: Philanthropy https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/fixing-tax-reform-and-charitable-giving-incentives-11435.html <![CDATA[Reform Public Broadcasting to Save Local Journalism]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/reform-public-broadcasting-save-local-journalism-11430.html Sat, 25 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Public Sector: Other Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/reform-public-broadcasting-save-local-journalism-11430.html <![CDATA[Appreciating Aretha]]> https://www.city-journal.org/html/aretha-franklin-16118.html Fri, 17 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/html/aretha-franklin-16118.html <![CDATA[Beyond Reinventing Government]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/beyond-reinventing-government-11421.html Thu, 16 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Howard Husock Nicole Gelinas DJ Jaffe Dean Ball Marcus A. Winters Richard J. Gelles David Black Urban Policy: Housing Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Other: Prisoner Reentry Health Policy: Mental Illness Education: Pre K-12 https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/beyond-reinventing-government-11421.html <![CDATA[Ben Carson Makes the Right Move Rolling Back Obama-Era Housing Policy]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/ben-carson-makes-right-move-rolling-back-obama-era-housing-policy-11420.html Thu, 16 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Urban Policy: Housing https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/ben-carson-makes-right-move-rolling-back-obama-era-housing-policy-11420.html <![CDATA[Was Las Vegas Itself the Motive?]]> https://www.city-journal.org/html/las-vegas-mass-shooting-motive-16100.html Tue, 07 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock https://www.city-journal.org/html/las-vegas-mass-shooting-motive-16100.html <![CDATA[An Inconvenient Census Truth]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/inconvenient-census-truth-democratic-districts-have-fewer-us-citizens-11393.html Fri, 03 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Urban Policy: NYC Public Sector: Reinventing Government https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/inconvenient-census-truth-democratic-districts-have-fewer-us-citizens-11393.html <![CDATA[How to Save New York's Public Housing from Itself]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/how-save-new-yorks-public-housing-itself-11370.html Wed, 25 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0400 Howard Husock Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Housing https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/how-save-new-yorks-public-housing-itself-11370.html