Manhattan Institute | Jason L. Riley https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/797/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Jason L. Riley Feed en <![CDATA[Memphis's Problems Are Only Going to Get Worse]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/memphiss-problems-are-only-going-to-get-worse-police-shooting-killings-tyre-nichols-crime-rate-violence-11675203751 Tue, 31 Jan 2023 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/memphiss-problems-are-only-going-to-get-worse-police-shooting-killings-tyre-nichols-crime-rate-violence-11675203751 <![CDATA[Byron Donalds Schools Joy Reid on Social Security]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/byron-donalds-schools-joy-reid-on-social-security-cable-news-house-republicans-entitlement-spending-retirement Tue, 24 Jan 2023 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Economics: Finance Economics: Tax https://www.manhattan-institute.org/byron-donalds-schools-joy-reid-on-social-security-cable-news-house-republicans-entitlement-spending-retirement <![CDATA[MI in Palm Beach: A Celebration of Ideas | 2023]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/palm-beach-celebration-ideas2023 Mon, 23 Jan 2023 00:00:00 -0500 Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/palm-beach-celebration-ideas2023 <![CDATA[Biden Gives a Boost to Schoolyard Bullies]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/biden-gives-a-boost-to-schoolyard-bullies-suspension-classroom-misconduct-education-threats-children Tue, 17 Jan 2023 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Education: Pre K-12 https://www.manhattan-institute.org/biden-gives-a-boost-to-schoolyard-bullies-suspension-classroom-misconduct-education-threats-children <![CDATA[The Economic and Human Costs of Protecting Criminals]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-economic-and-human-costs-of-protecting-criminals-police-shoplifting-arrest-violent-defendant-offenders Tue, 10 Jan 2023 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-economic-and-human-costs-of-protecting-criminals-police-shoplifting-arrest-violent-defendant-offenders <![CDATA[New Laws May Make 2023 a Year of Unintended Consequences]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/new-state-laws-2023-unintended-consequences-minimum-wage-prison-jail-employment-weed-pot-violent-offender Tue, 03 Jan 2023 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/new-state-laws-2023-unintended-consequences-minimum-wage-prison-jail-employment-weed-pot-violent-offender <![CDATA[State-Based Visas Could Ease the Border Crisis]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/state-based-visas-could-ease-the-border-crisis-immigration-migrants-mexico-latin-america-asylum-title Thu, 22 Dec 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Other: Immigration https://www.manhattan-institute.org/state-based-visas-could-ease-the-border-crisis-immigration-migrants-mexico-latin-america-asylum-title <![CDATA[Charter Schools' Success Makes Them a Political Target]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/charter-schools-success-makes-them-a-political-target-supreme-court-dress-code-lawsuit-education-aclu-teachers-unions Tue, 13 Dec 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Education: Pre K-12 https://www.manhattan-institute.org/charter-schools-success-makes-them-a-political-target-supreme-court-dress-code-lawsuit-education-aclu-teachers-unions <![CDATA[Heads I Win, Tails You Lose]]> https://www.city-journal.org/georgia-senate-race-demolishes-voter-suppression-myth Fri, 09 Dec 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley https://www.city-journal.org/georgia-senate-race-demolishes-voter-suppression-myth <![CDATA[Who's Afraid of Randi Weingarten?]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/whos-afraid-of-randi-weingarten-aft-mike-pompeo-education-learning-k-12-students-america-federation-of-teachers Tue, 06 Dec 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Education: Pre K-12 https://www.manhattan-institute.org/whos-afraid-of-randi-weingarten-aft-mike-pompeo-education-learning-k-12-students-america-federation-of-teachers <![CDATA[Black Mayors in the Four Biggest Cities. Is That a ‘Big Deal'?]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/four-biggest-cities-black-mayors-los-angeles-economic-advancement-voters-minority-ethnic-race-elected-official Tue, 29 Nov 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Public Sector: Reinventing Government https://www.manhattan-institute.org/four-biggest-cities-black-mayors-los-angeles-economic-advancement-voters-minority-ethnic-race-elected-official <![CDATA[School Choice Made Big Gains During the Covid Pandemic]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/school-choice-gained-a-foothold-during-the-covid-pandemic-larning-pods-microschools-education-teachers Tue, 22 Nov 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Education: Pre K-12 https://www.manhattan-institute.org/school-choice-gained-a-foothold-during-the-covid-pandemic-larning-pods-microschools-education-teachers <![CDATA[Minority Support for the GOP Crept Up Again in the Midterms]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/minority-support-gop-midterms-election-voters-democrats-ethnic-racial-republicans-liberal-progressive Tue, 15 Nov 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Race: Other Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/minority-support-gop-midterms-election-voters-democrats-ethnic-racial-republicans-liberal-progressive <![CDATA[Democrats Pay a Political Price for Going Easy on Crime]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/democrats-pay-a-political-price-for-going-easy-on-crime-violence-voters-midterms-election-gop-public-safety-homicides Tue, 08 Nov 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Jason L. Riley Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/democrats-pay-a-political-price-for-going-easy-on-crime-violence-voters-midterms-election-gop-public-safety-homicides <![CDATA[Lee Zeldin's New York Republicans Party Like It's 1994]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/new-york-republican-1994-zeldin-hochul-crime-abortion-inflation-adams-upstate-city-governor-democrats-complacent-gerrymander-midterm Thu, 03 Nov 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/new-york-republican-1994-zeldin-hochul-crime-abortion-inflation-adams-upstate-city-governor-democrats-complacent-gerrymander-midterm <![CDATA[The GOP's 2022 Midterm Slate Is More Diverse Than Ever]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/black-republican-congressman-midterms-election-voter-turnout-diversity-candidates-gop Tue, 25 Oct 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/black-republican-congressman-midterms-election-voter-turnout-diversity-candidates-gop <![CDATA[Racial Preferences Harm Their Beneficiaries, Too]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/racial-preferences-harm-beneficiaries Tue, 04 Oct 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/racial-preferences-harm-beneficiaries <![CDATA[The College Board's Racial Pandering]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-college-boards-racial-pandering-education Tue, 27 Sep 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-college-boards-racial-pandering-education <![CDATA[The Migrant Influx Could Help With the Labor Shortage]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-migrant-influx-could-help-with-the-labor-shortage-work-visa-immigration-employment-asylum-trafficking-partisan-border-biden-white-house Tue, 20 Sep 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Other: Immigration Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-migrant-influx-could-help-with-the-labor-shortage-work-visa-immigration-employment-asylum-trafficking-partisan-border-biden-white-house <![CDATA[Abortion, Polling and Other Republican Midterm Troubles]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/abortion-polling-and-other-republican-troubles-roe-dobbs-midterms-election Tue, 13 Sep 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/abortion-polling-and-other-republican-troubles-roe-dobbs-midterms-election <![CDATA[Student-Loan Forgiveness Raises a Question About College]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/student-debt-forgiveness-raises-a-basic-question-about-college-loans Tue, 06 Sep 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/student-debt-forgiveness-raises-a-basic-question-about-college-loans <![CDATA[PragerU: Why Americans Are Buying Guns]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-americans-are-buying-guns Mon, 05 Sep 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-americans-are-buying-guns <![CDATA[Social Justice for California Fast-Food Workers? Where's the Beef?]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/social-justice-for-fast-food-workers-wheres-the-beef-minimum-wages-base-pay-starting-salary-california-legislation-job-employer Tue, 30 Aug 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Economics: Other Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/social-justice-for-fast-food-workers-wheres-the-beef-minimum-wages-base-pay-starting-salary-california-legislation-job-employer <![CDATA[The Chautauqua Institution Isn't What It Used to Be]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-chautauqua-institution-isnt-what-it-used-to-be-advocates-for-balance-abc-woke-progressive-speakers-salman-rushdie-ideological-diversity Tue, 23 Aug 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-chautauqua-institution-isnt-what-it-used-to-be-advocates-for-balance-abc-woke-progressive-speakers-salman-rushdie-ideological-diversity <![CDATA[Immigrants Can Help Relieve the Labor Shortage]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/immigrants-can-help-relieve-the-labor-shortage-unemployment-workers-job-openings-migrants-staffing-inflation-border Tue, 16 Aug 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Jason L. Riley Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/immigrants-can-help-relieve-the-labor-shortage-unemployment-workers-job-openings-migrants-staffing-inflation-border