Manhattan Institute | Stephen Eide https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/796/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Stephen Eide Feed en <![CDATA[Homelessness in America]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/eide-homelessness-in-america Thu, 02 Jun 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Urban Policy: Housing Other: Poverty https://www.manhattan-institute.org/eide-homelessness-in-america <![CDATA[Soul Doctors]]> https://www.city-journal.org/a-critical-look-at-past-and-future-of-psychiatry Wed, 18 May 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide https://www.city-journal.org/a-critical-look-at-past-and-future-of-psychiatry <![CDATA[We Must Make NYC More Accountable on the Homeless and Mentally Ill]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/nyc-must-be-more-accountable-on-the-homeless-and-mentally-ill Wed, 04 May 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Urban Policy: Housing Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/nyc-must-be-more-accountable-on-the-homeless-and-mentally-ill <![CDATA[Crime and Mental Illness in New York City: Community Solutions]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/crime-and-mental-illness-nyc-community-solution Thu, 07 Apr 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Health Policy: Mental Illness Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/crime-and-mental-illness-nyc-community-solution <![CDATA[Manhattan Institute Scholars Respond to Gov. Hochul's 10-Point Bail Reform Proposal]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/mi-responds-hochul-bail-reform Wed, 23 Mar 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Charles Fain Lehman Hannah E. Meyers John Ketcham Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/mi-responds-hochul-bail-reform <![CDATA[Why American Mental-Health Care Is Failing: A Restatement]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-american-mental-health-care-is-failing-a-restatement Sun, 06 Mar 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide Health Policy: Mental Illness https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-american-mental-health-care-is-failing-a-restatement <![CDATA[Can New York Turn the Page on Homelessness?]]> https://www.city-journal.org/can-new-york-turn-the-page-on-homelessness Fri, 25 Feb 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide Brian C. Anderson https://www.city-journal.org/can-new-york-turn-the-page-on-homelessness <![CDATA[A New Day for Mental Health in New York]]> https://www.city-journal.org/a-new-day-for-mental-health-in-new-york Wed, 23 Feb 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide https://www.city-journal.org/a-new-day-for-mental-health-in-new-york <![CDATA[Crime and Mental Illness in New York City: Framing the Challenge for the New Mayor]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/eide-crime-and-mental-illness Thu, 17 Feb 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide Urban Policy: Crime Urban Policy: NYC Health Policy: Mental Illness Other: Poverty Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/eide-crime-and-mental-illness <![CDATA[Political Hedonism and the Wages of Prosperity]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/political-hedonism-and-the-wages-of-prosperity Tue, 04 Jan 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/political-hedonism-and-the-wages-of-prosperity <![CDATA[Work Works and Building Healthier Communities]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/building-healthier-communities Mon, 03 Jan 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide Urban Policy: Housing Urban Policy: Crime Health Policy: Mental Illness https://www.manhattan-institute.org/building-healthier-communities <![CDATA[A Fresh Start on Homelessness?]]> https://www.city-journal.org/eric-adams-can-reset-nyc-policy-on-homeless Mon, 03 Jan 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide https://www.city-journal.org/eric-adams-can-reset-nyc-policy-on-homeless <![CDATA[Police Are Still the Most Qualified First Responders for Mental Illness]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/police-are-still-the-most-qualified-mental-illness-responders Mon, 27 Dec 2021 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/police-are-still-the-most-qualified-mental-illness-responders <![CDATA[The Future of Crisis Response]]> https://www.city-journal.org/the-future-of-crisis-response Fri, 03 Dec 2021 00:00:00 -0500 Stephen Eide Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.city-journal.org/the-future-of-crisis-response <![CDATA[Poverty and Homelessness in the Details: Dasani and What Came After]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/ny-oped-poverty-homelessness-details-dasani Tue, 05 Oct 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Urban Policy: NYC Economics: Income Inequality https://www.manhattan-institute.org/ny-oped-poverty-homelessness-details-dasani <![CDATA[Ending Homelessness?]]> https://www.city-journal.org/biden-homelessness-plan-shows-inadequacy-of-housing-first Fri, 24 Sep 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide https://www.city-journal.org/biden-homelessness-plan-shows-inadequacy-of-housing-first <![CDATA[Homelessness Is Behind the Anger at Gavin Newsom]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/homelessness-recall-election-gavin-newsom-california-larry-elder-crime-encampment-public-housing-zoning-regulations Fri, 03 Sep 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Urban Policy: Other Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/homelessness-recall-election-gavin-newsom-california-larry-elder-crime-encampment-public-housing-zoning-regulations <![CDATA[Stone Wall Culture]]> https://www.city-journal.org/connecticut-stone-wall-culture Fri, 03 Sep 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide https://www.city-journal.org/connecticut-stone-wall-culture <![CDATA[Turning the Page on Mental Health]]> https://www.city-journal.org/how-new-yorks-next-mayor-should-approach-mental-health Mon, 30 Aug 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide https://www.city-journal.org/how-new-yorks-next-mayor-should-approach-mental-health <![CDATA[‘DSM Review: The Meanings of Madness]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/dsm-review-the-meanings-of-madness Sun, 15 Aug 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Health Policy: Mental Illness https://www.manhattan-institute.org/dsm-review-the-meanings-of-madness <![CDATA[The Municipal Deep State]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-municipal-deep-state Mon, 21 Jun 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-municipal-deep-state <![CDATA[How to Segment Social Services]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-to-segment-social-services Mon, 21 Jun 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Other: Miscellaneous Health Policy: Other Urban Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-to-segment-social-services <![CDATA[Supervision of the Mentally Ill Can Reduce Violence and Create Safer Communities]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/supervision-of-the-mentally-ill-can-reduce-violence-and-create-safer-communities Fri, 21 May 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Policing & Public Safety: All https://www.manhattan-institute.org/supervision-of-the-mentally-ill-can-reduce-violence-and-create-safer-communities <![CDATA[Mental Health, the Subways and Joe Biden]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/ny-oped-mental-health-the-subways-and-joe-biden Sun, 09 May 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Carolyn D. Gorman Other: Miscellaneous Urban Policy: NYC Health Policy: Mental Illness https://www.manhattan-institute.org/ny-oped-mental-health-the-subways-and-joe-biden <![CDATA[NYC's Street Homeless Need Straight, Tough Love - Not Virtue Signaling]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/nycs-street-homeless-need-straight-tough-love-not-virtue-signaling Wed, 07 Apr 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Stephen Eide Urban Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/nycs-street-homeless-need-straight-tough-love-not-virtue-signaling