Manhattan Institute | Edward L. Glaeser https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/67/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Edward L. Glaeser Feed en <![CDATA[Straighten the Pike, and Then Cover It]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/straighten-pike-then-cover-it Tue, 21 Jun 2022 00:00:00 -0400 David Cutler Edward L. Glaeser Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/straighten-pike-then-cover-it <![CDATA[Rome or Carthage? Constantinople or Athens?]]> https://www.city-journal.org/ausonius-best-cities-list-from-390-ce Fri, 25 Mar 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/ausonius-best-cities-list-from-390-ce <![CDATA[About Filling All Those Empty Manhattan Towers: The Future of NYC's Central Business Districts]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/ny-oped-filling-vacant-manhattan-towers Mon, 21 Mar 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/ny-oped-filling-vacant-manhattan-towers <![CDATA[2021 James Q. Wilson Lecture: Cities at the Crossroads]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/2021-james-q-wilson-lecture-cities-crossroads Wed, 20 Oct 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Urban Policy: Housing Urban Policy: Regulation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/2021-james-q-wilson-lecture-cities-crossroads <![CDATA[How Can Cities Survive?]]> https://www.city-journal.org/how-cities-can-survive Thu, 23 Sep 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Brian C. Anderson https://www.city-journal.org/how-cities-can-survive <![CDATA[Don't Universalize Housing Vouchers]]> https://www.city-journal.org/dont-universalize-housing-vouchers Mon, 14 Jun 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/dont-universalize-housing-vouchers <![CDATA[Free the Entrepreneurs]]> https://www.city-journal.org/key-to-post-covid-recovery-is-lifting-restraints-to-new-business-creation Mon, 31 May 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/key-to-post-covid-recovery-is-lifting-restraints-to-new-business-creation <![CDATA[How Biden Can Free America from Its Zoning Straitjacket]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/biden-infrastructure-zoning Mon, 12 Apr 2021 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/biden-infrastructure-zoning <![CDATA[How to Fix American Capitalism]]> https://www.city-journal.org/end-insider-privileges-of-socialism-to-fix-american-capitalism Sun, 13 Dec 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/end-insider-privileges-of-socialism-to-fix-american-capitalism <![CDATA[The Nemeses of Cities]]> https://www.city-journal.org/perennial-threats-to-urban-life Mon, 21 Sep 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/perennial-threats-to-urban-life <![CDATA[James Q. Wilson Lecture 2020: The Survival of Cities]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/2020-james-q-wilson-lecture Thu, 17 Sep 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Urban Policy: Regulation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/2020-james-q-wilson-lecture <![CDATA[‘Promised Land' Review: A Short-Lived Consensus]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/promised-land-review-a-short-lived-consensus Wed, 19 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/promised-land-review-a-short-lived-consensus <![CDATA[A Life-or-Death Moment for Cities]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/a-life-or-death-moment-for-cities-coronavirus Sun, 10 May 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Urban Policy: Housing Urban Policy: NYC Health Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/a-life-or-death-moment-for-cities-coronavirus <![CDATA[Cities and Pandemics: A Long History]]> https://www.city-journal.org/covid-19-pandemics-urban-life Wed, 22 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Brian C. Anderson https://www.city-journal.org/covid-19-pandemics-urban-life <![CDATA[Cities and Pandemics Have a Long History]]> https://www.city-journal.org/cities-and-pandemics-have-long-history Sun, 19 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/cities-and-pandemics-have-long-history <![CDATA[‘The Nation City' Review: The Strength of Mayors]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-nation-city-review-the-strength-of-mayors Wed, 01 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Urban Policy: Other Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-nation-city-review-the-strength-of-mayors <![CDATA[For Now, Pay Workers to Stay Home]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/for-now-pay-workers-to-stay-home Tue, 24 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Economics: Employment Economics: Budget Health Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/for-now-pay-workers-to-stay-home <![CDATA[‘Fully Grown' Review: Pumping the Brakes]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/fully-grown-review-pumping-the-brakes Mon, 13 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Edward L. Glaeser Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/fully-grown-review-pumping-the-brakes <![CDATA[The Entrenched vs. the Newcomers: 2019 James Q. Wilson Lecture]]> https://www.city-journal.org/opportunity-american-cities Wed, 18 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/opportunity-american-cities <![CDATA[2019 James Q. Wilson Lecture: The Entrenched vs. The Newcomers]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/2019-james-q-wilson-lecture Wed, 04 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Urban Policy: Housing Urban Policy: Regulation Economics: Employment Economics: Regulations https://www.manhattan-institute.org/2019-james-q-wilson-lecture <![CDATA[How to Talk to Millennials About Capitalism]]> https://www.city-journal.org/millennials-embrace-socialism Sun, 05 May 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/millennials-embrace-socialism <![CDATA[How to Talk to Millennials About Capitalism]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/talking-to-millennials-about-capitalism Wed, 01 May 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Edward L. Glaeser Economics: Other Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/talking-to-millennials-about-capitalism <![CDATA[SXSW 2019: Gauging Urban Change with Google Street View]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/events/sxsw-2019-gauging-urban-change-with-google Fri, 08 Mar 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/events/sxsw-2019-gauging-urban-change-with-google <![CDATA[‘The Third Pillar' Review: Why Washington Is the Problem]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/the-third-pillar-review-strengthen-local-communities Thu, 07 Mar 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Edward L. Glaeser Other: Culture & Society Other: Children & Family https://www.manhattan-institute.org/html/the-third-pillar-review-strengthen-local-communities <![CDATA[Mission: Revive the Rust Belt]]> https://www.city-journal.org/revive-rust-belt Thu, 15 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0500 Edward L. Glaeser https://www.city-journal.org/revive-rust-belt