Manhattan Institute | James Piereson https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/533/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | James Piereson Feed en <![CDATA[How Colleges Use Sat-Optional Applications to Covertly Impose Affirmative Action]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-colleges-use-sat-optional-applications-to-covertly-impose-affirmative-action Sat, 23 Jul 2022 00:00:00 -0400 Naomi Schaefer Riley James Piereson Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-colleges-use-sat-optional-applications-to-covertly-impose-affirmative-action <![CDATA[Welcome to the Full-Employment Recession]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/full-employment-recession Fri, 15 Jul 2022 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Economics: Finance https://www.manhattan-institute.org/full-employment-recession <![CDATA[Debts and Regrets]]> https://www.city-journal.org/student-debt-and-regret Tue, 07 Jun 2022 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley https://www.city-journal.org/student-debt-and-regret <![CDATA[Dazed and Confused]]> https://www.city-journal.org/remote-learning-a-disaster-for-college-students Mon, 25 Apr 2022 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley https://www.city-journal.org/remote-learning-a-disaster-for-college-students <![CDATA[Culture against Civilization]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/culture-against-civilization Thu, 21 Apr 2022 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/culture-against-civilization <![CDATA[A Brief History of Inflation]]> https://www.city-journal.org/brief-history-inflation Tue, 19 Apr 2022 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson https://www.city-journal.org/brief-history-inflation <![CDATA[Dropping the SATs Opens the Door to More Legacy Students]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/dropping-sats-might-mean-more-legacy-admissions-at-harvard Tue, 01 Mar 2022 00:00:00 -0500 Naomi Schaefer Riley James Piereson Education: Higher Ed Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/dropping-sats-might-mean-more-legacy-admissions-at-harvard <![CDATA[Will Covid Collapse the College Cartel?]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/will-covid-collapse-the-college-cartel Thu, 27 Jan 2022 00:00:00 -0500 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/will-covid-collapse-the-college-cartel <![CDATA[The Way Forward]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-way-forward Wed, 22 Dec 2021 00:00:00 -0500 James Piereson Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-way-forward <![CDATA[In Defense of Donor Privacy]]> https://www.city-journal.org/mackenzie-scott-and-donor-privacy Fri, 17 Dec 2021 00:00:00 -0500 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley https://www.city-journal.org/mackenzie-scott-and-donor-privacy <![CDATA[Spectacle vs. Progress]]> https://www.city-journal.org/affirmative-action-is-about-spectacle-not-progress Tue, 05 Oct 2021 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley https://www.city-journal.org/affirmative-action-is-about-spectacle-not-progress <![CDATA[The Old Hang-Ups]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-old-hang-ups Wed, 18 Aug 2021 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-old-hang-ups <![CDATA[Wokeness Comes to Philanthropy]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/wokeness-comes-to-philanthropy Mon, 14 Jun 2021 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley Other: Culture & Society Other: Philanthropy https://www.manhattan-institute.org/wokeness-comes-to-philanthropy <![CDATA[Less Than Meets the Eye]]> https://www.city-journal.org/scoreless-admissions-set-minority-students-up-for-failure Tue, 04 May 2021 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley https://www.city-journal.org/scoreless-admissions-set-minority-students-up-for-failure <![CDATA[Crony Capitalism and Professional Sports]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/crony-capitalism-and-professional-sports Sun, 04 Apr 2021 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/crony-capitalism-and-professional-sports <![CDATA[Pooled Philanthropy]]> https://www.city-journal.org/use-of-pooled-philanthropic-funds-growing Thu, 01 Apr 2021 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley https://www.city-journal.org/use-of-pooled-philanthropic-funds-growing <![CDATA[We Are Not Safer At Home]]> https://www.city-journal.org/lockdowns-impact-on-mental-and-physical-health Tue, 23 Feb 2021 00:00:00 -0500 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley https://www.city-journal.org/lockdowns-impact-on-mental-and-physical-health <![CDATA[Covid Makes Doctorates Harder to Get-and That's Good]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/covid-makes-doctorates-harder-to-getand-thats-good Fri, 05 Feb 2021 00:00:00 -0500 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley Education: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/covid-makes-doctorates-harder-to-getand-thats-good <![CDATA[Xavier Becerra's Nonprofit Problem]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/xavier-becerras-nonprofit-problem Wed, 13 Jan 2021 00:00:00 -0500 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley Health Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/xavier-becerras-nonprofit-problem <![CDATA[Give to Charity over Political Campaigns]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/give-to-charity-over-political-campaigns Mon, 07 Dec 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Naomi Schaefer Riley James Piereson Other: Philanthropy https://www.manhattan-institute.org/give-to-charity-over-political-campaigns <![CDATA[Coercing Charity]]> https://www.city-journal.org/donor-advised-funds Tue, 24 Nov 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Naomi Schaefer Riley James Piereson https://www.city-journal.org/donor-advised-funds <![CDATA[A Recess Appointment for the Ginsburg Seat?]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/a-recess-appointment-for-the-ginsburg-seat Sat, 19 Sep 2020 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Legal Reform: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/a-recess-appointment-for-the-ginsburg-seat <![CDATA[It's Not Philanthropy's Job to ‘Save Democracy']]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/philanthropy-foundations-exist-to-support-their-mission-not-to-save-democracy Wed, 26 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley Other: Philanthropy https://www.manhattan-institute.org/philanthropy-foundations-exist-to-support-their-mission-not-to-save-democracy <![CDATA[Woke Foundations]]> https://www.city-journal.org/foundations-embrace-radical-politics Tue, 11 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Naomi Schaefer Riley https://www.city-journal.org/foundations-embrace-radical-politics <![CDATA[Conservatism Is Rooted In Natural Rights]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/conservatism-is-rooted-in-natural-rights Sat, 01 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 James Piereson Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/conservatism-is-rooted-in-natural-rights