Manhattan Institute | Nicole Gelinas https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/519/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Nicole Gelinas Feed en <![CDATA[You Will Pay Dearly for the MTA's New Labor Deal]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/you-will-pay-dearly-for-the-mtas-new-labor-deal Fri, 06 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/you-will-pay-dearly-for-the-mtas-new-labor-deal <![CDATA[A Better Way to Fight New York's Fare-Beating Problem]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/a-better-way-to-fight-new-yorks-fare-beating-problem Mon, 02 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/a-better-way-to-fight-new-yorks-fare-beating-problem <![CDATA[The Firefighting Fed]]> https://www.city-journal.org/federal-reserve-interest-rates Fri, 29 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/federal-reserve-interest-rates <![CDATA[De Blasio's Doing Right by the Rock Center Christmas Crush]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-doing-right-by-the-rock-center-christmas-crush Mon, 25 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-doing-right-by-the-rock-center-christmas-crush <![CDATA[Detroit Can Lead on Real-World AV]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/detroit-can-lead-real-world-av Wed, 20 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Economics: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/detroit-can-lead-real-world-av <![CDATA[The MTA's Fiscal 'Plan' Is Pure Politics]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/mta-fiscal-plan-is-pure-politics Sun, 17 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/mta-fiscal-plan-is-pure-politics <![CDATA[De Blasio's Latest Idea: Churro Zones in Subway Stations]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-latest-brainstorm-churro-zones-subway-stations Fri, 15 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-latest-brainstorm-churro-zones-subway-stations <![CDATA[Warren's Health Plan Is Big Trouble for Organized Labor]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/warrens-health-plan-is-big-trouble-for-organized-labor Mon, 11 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Health Policy: Medicare/Medicaid Public Sector: The Role of Unions https://www.manhattan-institute.org/warrens-health-plan-is-big-trouble-for-organized-labor <![CDATA[The City Transit Union Is (Foolishly) All Too Ready to Strike]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/city-transit-union-foolishly-ready-to-strike Mon, 04 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Public Sector: The Role of Unions https://www.manhattan-institute.org/city-transit-union-foolishly-ready-to-strike <![CDATA[Modern Art of the Deal]]> https://www.city-journal.org/moma-makeover Fri, 01 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/moma-makeover <![CDATA[Council Should Nix de Blasio's New Bid to Strangle Central Park's Carriage Biz ]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/council-should-nix-de-blasios-new-bid-to-strangle-central-parks-carriage-biz Wed, 30 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/council-should-nix-de-blasios-new-bid-to-strangle-central-parks-carriage-biz <![CDATA[A Phony Fix for the City's Fiscal Follies]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/a-phony-fix-for-the-citys-fiscal-follies Mon, 28 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Tax & Budget Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/a-phony-fix-for-the-citys-fiscal-follies <![CDATA[De Blasio's Jail Plan Guarantees Nightmares for the Next Mayor]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-jail-plan-guarantees-nightmares-for-the-next-mayor Mon, 21 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Crime Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-jail-plan-guarantees-nightmares-for-the-next-mayor <![CDATA[Infrastructure Spending, Reconsidered]]> https://www.city-journal.org/infrastructure-spending-reconsidered Wed, 16 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Osborne Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/infrastructure-spending-reconsidered <![CDATA[The Stars Were Never Going to Align for Facebook's Libra]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-stars-were-never-going-to-align-for-facebooks-libra Tue, 15 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Economics: Finance https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-stars-were-never-going-to-align-for-facebooks-libra <![CDATA[The Disastrously Wrong Way to Collect NYC's Trash]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-disastrously-wrong-way-to-collect-nycs-trash Wed, 09 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-disastrously-wrong-way-to-collect-nycs-trash <![CDATA[Pedal Power]]> https://www.city-journal.org/cycling-history-new-york-city Fri, 04 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/cycling-history-new-york-city <![CDATA[The Gaping Hole in the MTA's New Financial Plans]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-gaping-hole-in-the-mtas-new-financial-plans Mon, 30 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-gaping-hole-in-the-mtas-new-financial-plans <![CDATA[WeWork's Downfall Shows How Ridiculously Overvalued So Many Startups Are]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/wework-downfall-startups-overvalued Thu, 26 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Economics: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/wework-downfall-startups-overvalued <![CDATA[De Blasio's Mayoralty Has Totally Plateaued]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-mayoralty-has-totally-plateaued Mon, 23 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-mayoralty-has-totally-plateaued <![CDATA[When in Doubt, Print Money]]> https://www.city-journal.org/modern-money-theory Thu, 19 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/modern-money-theory <![CDATA[MI Responds: The New MTA Capital Plan]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-new-york-mta-capital-plan Mon, 16 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-new-york-mta-capital-plan <![CDATA[De Blasio's Next ‘Gift' for Workers Is Murder for Mom-And-Pop Shops]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-next-gift-for-workers-is-murder-for-mom-and-pop-shops Mon, 16 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Regulation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-next-gift-for-workers-is-murder-for-mom-and-pop-shops <![CDATA[Replacing Port Authority Bus Terminal Looking Like a Decades-Long Nightmare]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/replacing-port-authority-bus-terminal-decades-long-nightmare Mon, 09 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/replacing-port-authority-bus-terminal-decades-long-nightmare <![CDATA[How the MTA Can Save $10 Billion in the Next Decade]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-the-mta-can-save-10-billion-in-the-next-decade Sun, 08 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-the-mta-can-save-10-billion-in-the-next-decade