Manhattan Institute | Nicole Gelinas https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/519/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Nicole Gelinas Feed en <![CDATA[Infrastructure Spending, Reconsidered]]> https://www.city-journal.org/infrastructure-spending-reconsidered Wed, 16 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Osborne Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/infrastructure-spending-reconsidered <![CDATA[The Stars Were Never Going to Align for Facebook's Libra]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-stars-were-never-going-to-align-for-facebooks-libra Tue, 15 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Economics: Finance https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-stars-were-never-going-to-align-for-facebooks-libra <![CDATA[The Disastrously Wrong Way to Collect NYC's Trash]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-disastrously-wrong-way-to-collect-nycs-trash Wed, 09 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-disastrously-wrong-way-to-collect-nycs-trash <![CDATA[Pedal Power]]> https://www.city-journal.org/cycling-history-new-york-city Fri, 04 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/cycling-history-new-york-city <![CDATA[The Gaping Hole in the MTA's New Financial Plans]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-gaping-hole-in-the-mtas-new-financial-plans Mon, 30 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-gaping-hole-in-the-mtas-new-financial-plans <![CDATA[WeWork's Downfall Shows How Ridiculously Overvalued So Many Startups Are]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/wework-downfall-startups-overvalued Thu, 26 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Economics: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/wework-downfall-startups-overvalued <![CDATA[De Blasio's Mayoralty Has Totally Plateaued]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-mayoralty-has-totally-plateaued Mon, 23 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-mayoralty-has-totally-plateaued <![CDATA[When in Doubt, Print Money]]> https://www.city-journal.org/modern-money-theory Thu, 19 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/modern-money-theory <![CDATA[MI Responds: The New MTA Capital Plan]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-new-york-mta-capital-plan Mon, 16 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-new-york-mta-capital-plan <![CDATA[De Blasio's Next ‘Gift' for Workers Is Murder for Mom-And-Pop Shops]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-next-gift-for-workers-is-murder-for-mom-and-pop-shops Mon, 16 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Regulation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-next-gift-for-workers-is-murder-for-mom-and-pop-shops <![CDATA[Replacing Port Authority Bus Terminal Looking Like a Decades-Long Nightmare]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/replacing-port-authority-bus-terminal-decades-long-nightmare Mon, 09 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/replacing-port-authority-bus-terminal-decades-long-nightmare <![CDATA[How the MTA Can Save $10 Billion in the Next Decade]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-the-mta-can-save-10-billion-in-the-next-decade Sun, 08 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-the-mta-can-save-10-billion-in-the-next-decade <![CDATA[Why the Next Recession Will Be Brutal for NYC]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-the-next-recession-will-be-brutal-for-nyc Mon, 02 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Tax & Budget Urban Policy: NYC Economics: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-the-next-recession-will-be-brutal-for-nyc <![CDATA[The Two-Wheel Safety Illusion]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/two-wheel-safety-illusion-urban-cycling Mon, 26 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/two-wheel-safety-illusion-urban-cycling <![CDATA[NYPD Cops Are Still Doing Their Jobs - and Keeping Crime Down ]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/nypd-cops-are-still-doing-their-jobs-and-keeping-crime-down Mon, 26 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Crime https://www.manhattan-institute.org/nypd-cops-are-still-doing-their-jobs-and-keeping-crime-down <![CDATA[Cuomo Allies' ‘Fight' Is Just a Distraction from the MTA's OT Mess]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/cuomo-allies-fight-distraction-from-mtas-ot-mess Mon, 19 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Public Sector Reform Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/cuomo-allies-fight-distraction-from-mtas-ot-mess <![CDATA[Notre Dame's Reconstruction Has Already Stalled]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/notre-dames-reconstruction-has-already-stalled Mon, 12 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Other: Culture & Society https://www.manhattan-institute.org/notre-dames-reconstruction-has-already-stalled <![CDATA[What de Blasio Won't Tell Democrats: His Spending in NYC Is Killing the Middle Class ]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasio-spending-in-nyc-is-killing-the-middle-class Mon, 05 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Tax & Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasio-spending-in-nyc-is-killing-the-middle-class <![CDATA[The Fed Is Courting Disaster by Leaving Interest Rates Too Low]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-fed-is-courting-disaster-by-leaving-interest-rates-too-low Mon, 29 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Economics: Monetary Policy Economics: Finance https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-fed-is-courting-disaster-by-leaving-interest-rates-too-low <![CDATA[Seven Ways the MTA Can Save $10 Billion]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/seven-ways-the-mta-can-save-10-billion-transformation-plan Tue, 23 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/seven-ways-the-mta-can-save-10-billion-transformation-plan <![CDATA[De Blasio's 78-Degree Dictat Was an Empty Stunt]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-heat-wave-78-degree-order-empty-stunt Mon, 22 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/de-blasios-heat-wave-78-degree-order-empty-stunt <![CDATA[MTA ‘Transformation' Plan Is Just Another Cuomo Con]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/mta-transformation-plan-another-cuomo-con Tue, 16 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/mta-transformation-plan-another-cuomo-con <![CDATA[Homeownership's Hidden Debt]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/homeownership-local-government-pension-debt Mon, 15 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Tax & Budget Public Sector: Pension Reform https://www.manhattan-institute.org/homeownership-local-government-pension-debt <![CDATA[The Manhattan Blackout Proved How Fragile Our Infrastructure Is]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/manhattan-blackout-proves-how-fragile-our-infrastructure-is Mon, 15 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/manhattan-blackout-proves-how-fragile-our-infrastructure-is <![CDATA[Two Decades of NYC's Struggles with Growth]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/two-decades-of-new-york-citys-struggles-with-growth Mon, 08 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/two-decades-of-new-york-citys-struggles-with-growth