Manhattan Institute | Nicole Gelinas https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/519/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Nicole Gelinas Feed en <![CDATA[New York City Needs More Neighborhoods in Revolt Against City Hall]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/new-york-city-needs-more-neighborhoods-in-revolt-against-city-hall Mon, 14 Sep 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/new-york-city-needs-more-neighborhoods-in-revolt-against-city-hall <![CDATA[Why London's Underground Is in Better Post-Pandemic Shape Than NYC's Subways ]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-londons-underground-is-in-better-shape-than-nycs-subways Tue, 08 Sep 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-londons-underground-is-in-better-shape-than-nycs-subways <![CDATA[After Katrina]]> https://www.city-journal.org/post-katrina-new-orleans Fri, 04 Sep 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/post-katrina-new-orleans <![CDATA[NYC's Failure to Protect Columbus Circle for the Public]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/nyc-failure-protect-columbus-circle-public Sun, 30 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/nyc-failure-protect-columbus-circle-public <![CDATA[The MTA's Route Out of Its Existential Crisis]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-mtas-route-out-of-its-existential-crisis Fri, 28 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-mtas-route-out-of-its-existential-crisis <![CDATA[How to Save Gotham Transit]]> https://www.city-journal.org/saving-new-york-public-transportation Wed, 26 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/saving-new-york-public-transportation <![CDATA[The MTA Is Headed for a Total Financial Derailment]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-mta-is-headed-for-a-total-financial-derailment Mon, 24 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-mta-is-headed-for-a-total-financial-derailment <![CDATA[Sorry, Mayor de Blasio: NYC Desperately Needs Its Billionaires]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/sorry-mayor-de-blasio-nyc-desperately-needs-its-billionaires Wed, 19 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Tax & Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/sorry-mayor-de-blasio-nyc-desperately-needs-its-billionaires <![CDATA[Experts Weigh In: How to Save NYC Post-Coronavirus]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/experts-how-to-save-new-york-city-post-coronavirus Mon, 17 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 E. J. McMahon Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/experts-how-to-save-new-york-city-post-coronavirus <![CDATA[Trouble on the Upper West Side]]> https://www.city-journal.org/upper-west-side-hotels-homeless Wed, 12 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Seth Barron https://www.city-journal.org/upper-west-side-hotels-homeless <![CDATA[With a Defanged Watchdog, NYC's Fiscal Future Is Dicey]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/with-defanged-watchdog-nycs-fiscal-future-is-dicey Mon, 10 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/with-defanged-watchdog-nycs-fiscal-future-is-dicey <![CDATA[West Side Storm]]> https://www.city-journal.org/rising-crime-in-new-yorks-upper-west-side Sun, 09 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/rising-crime-in-new-yorks-upper-west-side <![CDATA[It's Past Time the Tax Code Faced the New Home-Office Reality]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/its-past-time-tax-code-faced-new-home-office-reality Mon, 03 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Economics: Tax Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/its-past-time-tax-code-faced-new-home-office-reality <![CDATA[Vision Zero, Zero-ed Out]]> https://www.city-journal.org/de-blasio-surrenders-new-yorks-streets Mon, 03 Aug 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/de-blasio-surrenders-new-yorks-streets <![CDATA[Manhattan Just Lost Its Stranglehold on White-Collar Workers]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/manhattan-lost-stranglehold-white-collar-workers Thu, 30 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/manhattan-lost-stranglehold-white-collar-workers <![CDATA[Soaring Subway Disorder Is Another Knife at NYC's Throat]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/soaring-subway-disorder-another-knife-nycs-throat Thu, 23 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Crime Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/soaring-subway-disorder-another-knife-nycs-throat <![CDATA[Living in New York in 2020: How to Navigate the City During Uncertain Times]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/living-new-york-2020-how-navigate-city-during-uncertain-times Wed, 22 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/living-new-york-2020-how-navigate-city-during-uncertain-times <![CDATA[The 747 Was the Very Best Way to Fly]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-747-was-the-very-best-way-to-fly Tue, 21 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Other: Miscellaneous https://www.manhattan-institute.org/the-747-was-the-very-best-way-to-fly <![CDATA[Underground, a Pandemic of Lawlessness]]> https://www.city-journal.org/lawlessness-of-new-york-subways Tue, 21 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas https://www.city-journal.org/lawlessness-of-new-york-subways <![CDATA[Why Flight From the Cities Is Bad for the Suburbs, Too]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-flight-from-the-cities-is-bad-for-the-suburbs-too Mon, 20 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Housing Urban Policy: Tax & Budget Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/why-flight-from-the-cities-is-bad-for-the-suburbs-too <![CDATA[How Congress Can Get the Next Covid-Relief Bill Right]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/congress-white-house-need-to-get-next-rescue-package-right Mon, 13 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/congress-white-house-need-to-get-next-rescue-package-right <![CDATA[Tracking The MTA's Future]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/tracking-mta-future Mon, 13 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation https://www.manhattan-institute.org/tracking-mta-future <![CDATA[As Private Sector Bleeds, NYC Government Has Barely Even Begun Belt Tightening]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/private-sector-bleeds-nyc-council-barely-tightens-belt Mon, 06 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Tax & Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/private-sector-bleeds-nyc-council-barely-tightens-belt <![CDATA[Mass Transit, and Cities, Could Grind to a Halt Without Federal Aid]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/coronavirus-mass-transit-federal-aid Fri, 03 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Nicole Gelinas Urban Policy: Infrastructure & Transportation Urban Policy: Tax & Budget Urban Policy: NYC https://www.manhattan-institute.org/coronavirus-mass-transit-federal-aid <![CDATA[MI Responds: New York City's FY 2021 Budget]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-new-york-city-budget-fiscal-spending-2021 Wed, 01 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Michael Hendrix Nicole Gelinas Steven Malanga Eric Kober Urban Policy: NYC Urban Policy: Public Sector Reform Urban Policy: Tax & Budget https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-new-york-city-budget-fiscal-spending-2021