Manhattan Institute | Beth Akers https://www.manhattan-institute.org/feeds/1159/rss.xml Manhattan Institute | Beth Akers Feed en <![CDATA[MI Responds: March 2020 Jobs Report]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/march-2020-jobs-report-coronavirus Fri, 03 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/march-2020-jobs-report-coronavirus <![CDATA[First Empirical Evidence of the Potential Economic Catastrophe]]> https://economics21.org/first-empirical-evidence-of-potential-economic-catastrophe Thu, 26 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Economics: Employment https://economics21.org/first-empirical-evidence-of-potential-economic-catastrophe <![CDATA[Even in a Crisis, Cancelling Student Loans is a Bad Idea ]]> https://economics21.org/even-in-a-crisis-cancelling-student-loans-is-a-bad-idea Mon, 23 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://economics21.org/even-in-a-crisis-cancelling-student-loans-is-a-bad-idea <![CDATA[Stop Messing With Student Loans: Just Send More Cash ]]> https://economics21.org/dont-mess-with-student-loans-just-send-cash Fri, 20 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://economics21.org/dont-mess-with-student-loans-just-send-cash <![CDATA[The Case for Emergency Economic Relief ]]> https://economics21.org/american-people-need-a-bailout Tue, 17 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Economics: Budget Economics: Employment Economics: Finance https://economics21.org/american-people-need-a-bailout <![CDATA[Don't Ruin College by Making It Free]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/dont-ruin-college-by-making-it-free-threats-quality-innovation Mon, 09 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/dont-ruin-college-by-making-it-free-threats-quality-innovation <![CDATA[MI Responds: February Jobs Report]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-february-jobs-report Fri, 06 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-february-jobs-report <![CDATA[Bloomberg Higher Education Plan Isn't Exciting, but It Is Pragmatic]]> https://economics21.org/bloomberg-higher-education-loan-forgiveness Mon, 24 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://economics21.org/bloomberg-higher-education-loan-forgiveness <![CDATA[Sanders and Warren: Here's a Better Way to Help Student Loan Borrowers]]> https://economics21.org/sanders-warren-better-way-help-student-loan-borrowers Thu, 13 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Preston Cooper Education: Higher Ed https://economics21.org/sanders-warren-better-way-help-student-loan-borrowers <![CDATA[MI Responds: On the January 2020 Jobs Report]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-january-2020-jobs-report Fri, 07 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-january-2020-jobs-report <![CDATA[Takeaways from President Trump's 2020 State of the Union]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/president-trump-2020-state-of-the-union Wed, 05 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Brian Riedl Chris Pope Max Eden Economics: Other Education: Other Health Policy: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/president-trump-2020-state-of-the-union <![CDATA[MI Responds: On the 4th Quarter GDP Report]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-fourth-quarter-gdp-report Thu, 30 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Economics: Other https://www.manhattan-institute.org/responds-fourth-quarter-gdp-report <![CDATA[MI Responds: December Jobs Report]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/december-2019-jobs-report-us-economy Fri, 10 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/december-2019-jobs-report-us-economy <![CDATA[MI Responds: U.S. Third Quarter GDP Growth]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/us-gdp-growth-third-quarter-2019 Fri, 20 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Economics: Finance Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/us-gdp-growth-third-quarter-2019 <![CDATA[Forgiveness Isn't Divine When It Comes to Student Debt]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/forgiveness-isnt-divine-when-it-comes-to-student-debt Tue, 17 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/forgiveness-isnt-divine-when-it-comes-to-student-debt <![CDATA[Video: How to Hold Colleges Accountable for Providing Value]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/video/how-to-hold-colleges-accountable-value Wed, 11 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers https://www.manhattan-institute.org/video/how-to-hold-colleges-accountable-value <![CDATA[Risk Sharing: How to Hold Colleges Accountable for the Education They Provide]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-to-hold-colleges-accountable-for-education-they-provide Wed, 11 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/how-to-hold-colleges-accountable-for-education-they-provide <![CDATA[MI Responds: November Jobs Report]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/november-2019-jobs-report-us-economy Fri, 06 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0500 Beth Akers Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/november-2019-jobs-report-us-economy <![CDATA[Student Loan Fallacies-and Fixes]]> https://www.city-journal.org/stossel/student-loan-fallacies-and-fixes Tue, 22 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers John Stossel https://www.city-journal.org/stossel/student-loan-fallacies-and-fixes <![CDATA[Issues 2020: Millennials Aren't Drowning in Student Debt]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/issues2020-millennials-arent-drowning-in-student-debt Thu, 10 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/issues2020-millennials-arent-drowning-in-student-debt <![CDATA[Actually, Most Millennials Aren't Drowning in College Debt]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/millennials-arent-all-drowning-student-debt Mon, 02 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/millennials-arent-all-drowning-student-debt <![CDATA[The False Premise Behind the Consumer Debt Scare]]> https://economics21.org/consumer-debt-scare-false-financial-crisis Thu, 15 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Economics: Other https://economics21.org/consumer-debt-scare-false-financial-crisis <![CDATA[What the Fed Really Fears]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/what-the-federal-reserve-really-fears-rate-cut Sat, 03 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Economics: Employment Economics: Monetary Policy https://www.manhattan-institute.org/what-the-federal-reserve-really-fears-rate-cut <![CDATA[MI Responds: July 2019 Jobs Report]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/july-2019-jobs-report-unemployment Fri, 02 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Economics: Employment https://www.manhattan-institute.org/july-2019-jobs-report-unemployment <![CDATA[There's Too Much Emphasis on Reducing Student Loans and Not Enough on Reducing Risk ]]> https://www.manhattan-institute.org/theres-too-much-emphasis-reducing-student-loans-not-enough-reducing-risk Wed, 17 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0400 Beth Akers Education: Higher Ed https://www.manhattan-institute.org/theres-too-much-emphasis-reducing-student-loans-not-enough-reducing-risk