Home  
Articles  
Reviews  
Media  


THEODORE DALRYMPLE TALKS ABOUT HIS NEW BOOK

 

 


Our Culture, What's Left of It :
The Mandarins and the Masses

Ivan R. Dee, 2005
By Theodore Dalrymple

REVIEWS/MENTIONS

THE WORLD OF BOOKS: Some of our favorite authors and New Yorkers pick their favorite books of 2005, By Andre Aciman, New York Sun, 12-30-05

Our Culture, What's Left of It: the mandarins and the masses, By Geoffrey Wheatcroft, New Statesman, 10-11-05

Our Culture, What's Left Of It, By Jamie Glazov, FrontPageMagazine, 08-31-05

Oh, Cherie!, By Kathryn Jean Lopez, National Review, 08-24-05

Equal time, Paddling to New Zealand, 08-08-05

The Life And Death Of England's Cities, By Ed Driscoll, EdDriscoll.com, 08-07-05

Role of restraint amid 'the fragility of civilization', By Edward J. Sozanski, The Philadelphia Inquirer, 08-07-05

Happy-slap politics, By John Lloyd, The Financial Times, 07-24-05

The challenge to be civilized, By Andrew Martin, The Courier-Journal, 07-17-05

Stiff Upper Lip, Townhall.com, 07-08-05

By-products of Modernity, By Paul Hollander, The New York Sun, 06-13-05

The Doctor Is In, By David Pryce-Jones, National Review, 06-06-05

Safer Knives, By Elizabeth Kantor, conservativebookservice.com, 05-31-05

Pinpointing civilization's shortcomings, By Anthony Day, Los Angeles Times, 05-27-05

Library Journal Review, By Ellen D. Gilbert, 05-15-05

 

 

Contact:

Lindsay M. Young
Vice President,
Communications & Marketing

Clarice Smith
Director
Media Relations
Manhattan Institute
212-599-7000

Book Info:

Available at
Amazon.com
ISBN: 1566636434
Hardcover


"…There is so much learning and unconventional wisdom in it that you want to make the reading last."
- Norman Stone


"The brutal, penetrating honesty of his thinking and the vividness of his prose make Dalrymple the Orwell of our time."
- Denis Dutton,
editor Arts & Letters Daily


 

 

       

City Journal