Manhattan Institute for Policy Research.
Subscribe   Subscribe   MI on Facebook Find us on Twitter Find us on Instagram      



2014 Dinner Brochure     
Andrew Yang
Venture for America
New York, NY


Alice Chapman
Ely Chapman Education Foundation

Marietta, OH


Beth Schmidt

San Francisco, CA


Nick Ehrmann
Blue Engine

New York, NY


2013 Dinner Brochure     
David Campbell
All Hands Volunteers

Mattapoisett, MA
Kent Hutcheson
Colorado Uplift

Denver, CO
Vy Higginsen
Mama Foundation for the Arts

New York, NY
Barbara Van Dahlen
Give an Hour

Bethesda, MD

Suzanne McKechnie Klahr

Redwood City, CA
Daniel Reingold
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Center for Elder Abuse Prevention

Riverdale, New York
Mark Goldsmith
Getting Out and Staying Out

New York, NY
Michael Dippy

Orlando, FL

Maile Broccoli-Hickey
English At Work

Austin, TX
Rachel Doyle
Glamour Gals

Commack, NY
Barbara Elliott and Sandy Schultz
Work Faith Connection

Houston, TX
Ann Higdon
Improved Solutions for Urban Systems

New York, NY
Lee Ponsky

Cleveland, OH


Rev. John P. Foley, S.J.
Cristo Rey Network

Chicago, IL
Scott Stimpfel

South Pasadena, CA
Eric Greitens
The Mission Continues

St. Louis, MO
David Umansky
Civic Builders

New York, NY
Greg Zaff

Roxbury Crossing, MA


Adam Green
Rocking the Boat

New York, NY
Dave and Liane Phillips
Cincinnati Works

Cincinnati, OH
Garet Hil
National Kidney Registry

Babylon, NY
Juan Rangel
United Neighborhood Organization

Chicago, IL

Richard Grausman
C-CAP (Careers Through Culinary Arts Program)

New York, NY


Susan McWhinney-Morse
Beacon Hill Village

Boston, MA


Robert L. Woodson Sr.
Center for Neighborhood Enterprise

Washington D.C.


Zack Rosenburg and Liz McCartney
St. Bernard Project

New Orleans, LA


Rachel Lloyd
GEMS (Girls Educational and Mentoring Services)

New York, NY



Toni Vaughn Heineman, D.M.H.
A Home Within, Inc.

San Francisco, CA


Robert Chambers
Bonnie CLAC, (Credit Loans and Counseling)

Lebanon, NH


Rabbi Levi and Bassie Shemtov
Friendship Circle

West Bloomfield, MI


Addie Mix
Reclaim A Youth

Glenwood, IL


Catherine Rohr
Prison Entrepreneurship Program

Houston, TX



Mary Lou Kownacki, OSB
Inner City Neighborhood Art House

Erie, PA


Paige T. Ellison
Project K.I.D.—Responding to Kids in Devastation

Fairhope, AL


Richard C. Liebich
Project Lead the Way

Clifton Park, NY


Aaron Hurst
Taproot Foundation

San Francisco, CA


Amy Hamlin
Volunteers in Medicine Institute

Burlington, VT



Jose-Pablo Fernandez
Mexican Institute of Greater Houston, Inc.

Houston, TX


Temp Keller
RISE (Resources for Indispensable Schools and Educators)

San Francisco, CA


Joan C. Mazzotti
Philadelphia Futures for Youth

Philadelphia, PA


Reverend Mack McCarter
Shreveport-Bossier Community Renewal

Shreveport, LA


John Sage
Bridges To Life

Houston, TX


ReDonna Rodgers
Center for Teaching Entrepreneurship

Milwaukee, WI


Al Sikes
Reading Excellence & Discovery Foundation

New York, NY


Jane Leu
Upwardly Global

San Francisco, CA


Amy Lemley and Deanne Pearn
The First Place Fund for Youth

Oakland, CA


Chad Pregracke
Living Lands and Waters

East Moline, IL


Michael Tenbusch and Daniel Varner
Think Detroit

Detroit, MI


Sara Horowitz
Working Today

Brooklyn, NY


Gerald Chertavian
Year Up

Boston, MA


Dr. William S. Barnes
Shepherd’s Hope, Inc

Orlando, FL


Jacob Schramm, Founder and CEO
College Summit

Washington, DC


James G. Hunter
New Jersey Orators

Somerset, NJ



John (deceased) and Catherine Dixon
JUMP: Junior Uniformed Mentoring Program

Buffalo, NY


Mark Levine
Neighborhood Trust
Federal Credit Union/Credit Where Credit is Due

New York, NY

Eric Adler and Rajiv Vinnakota
The SEED Foundation

Washington, DC


Michael Danziger
Steppingstone Foundation

Boston, MA




The nomination period for the 2015 awards ended on March 13th. Winners will be notified later this summer.

About The Program

William E. Simon Lecture

William E. Simon Prize for Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneurship

Past Winners

Nomination and Selection

Richard Cornuelle Award for Social Entrepreneurship

Past Winners

Nomination and Selection

Questions about the Social Entrepreneurship Awards can be directed to Michael Barreiro at